osaziePeter Odemwingie has used his Twitter account to launch a blistering attack on the Nigeria Football Federation and Super Eagles coach Stephen Keshi.

The 31-year-old West Brom striker was controversially left out of the squad for the African Cup of Nations and vented his anger via social media.

“Keshi has no footballing reasons not to invite me but is not saying the truth,” Odemwingie said on the social networking site, Twitter.

Keshi, has, however hinted he may recall Odemwingie in the future. “I don’t have a twitter account so it doesn’t matter but I will speak to him down the line, if he wants to speak to me, that will not be a problem. We have World Cup qualifiers in March… I hope he will be available,” the coach said.

“He’s a very good player but right now I don’t need him and being a proffessional he should be able to accept that,” he added.

Odemwingie, who would have been playing in his fifth African Cup tournament, tweeted: ‘On my non-inclusion to the Eagles list I am not surprised. Not surprised Keshi and NFF couldn’t tell me themselves. No personality!

‘We talk through press hahaha how come I am the only stubborn one but no ex-Eagles player was sent off from the team with respect?

‘Keshi has no footballing reasons not to invite me but is not saying the truth. He is still in my plans he said haha coach u no dey my plans.’

On Friday Keshi announced a 32-man provisional squad to go to a training camp in Portugal and Odemwingie was not in it.

The player has been at the centre of controversy with his country before and some blamed him for Nigeria’s failure to qualify for the 2012 Nations Cup.

Keshi has since claimed that Odemwingie was demanding to be made captain, which has also annoyed the player.

He tweeted: ‘This might sound disrespectful but Eagles had no good captain for many years. Everyone looking only after himself.’

Odemwingie made his Nigeria debut ten years ago. It has often been a fractious relationship with a series of coaches but the player was still desperate to represent his country.

Please drop your comments...Thanks

