No Surprise! Messi’s World’s Best

Messi enjoyed an incredible 2012 where he scored 91 goals for club and country.
Messi enjoyed an incredible 2012 where he scored 91 goals for club and country.

Lionel Messi of Barcelona and Argentina, unsurprisingly, shatters Michel Platini’s record to clinch his fourth consecutive FIFA  Ballon d’Or award.

Messi was announced as the winner of the Ballon d’Or, the award given to the world’s best player, during a ceremony held in Zurich on Monday.

He was part of a three-man shortlist for the prize, which is voted for by journalists, and national coaches and captains, alongside midfielder Iniesta and forward Ronaldo.

He becomes the first player to win four consecutive Ballons d’Or, breaking the record he jointly held with former France international, and current Uefa president, Michel Platini.

“To tell you the truth this is really quite unbelievable,” said the Argentine. “The fourth award that I have had is just too great for words.

“I would like to recognise my other colleagues from Barcelona. Andres, it has been great to train and play alongside you.

“I would also like to recognise all of my friends in the Argentina national team, everyone that has worked with me, coaches and staff and my family and my friends. Also my wife and my son. Thank you.”

Messi, 25, hit 91 goals during 2012 and beat club team-mate Andres Iniesta and Real Madrid’s Ronaldo to the trophy.

Despite his goals, the Catalan giants failed to win either the Spanish league title or Champions League last year.

Messi – who polled 41.6% of the votes, with Ronaldo taking 23.68% and Iniesta 10.91% – was favourite to win after surpassing Germany striker Gerd Mueller’s record of 85 goals in a calendar year from 1972.

He netted 79 goals for Barcelona, plus another 12 for Argentina, in 69 games for club and country.

But Real Madrid clinched the Primera Division with a nine-point winning margin over their arch rivals, who were eliminated in the Champions League semi-finals by eventual winners Chelsea.

Messi, as well as Ronaldo and Iniesta, also featured in the team of the year,which was made up of 10 players from Barca and Real Madrid plus Atletico Madrid striker Radamel Falcao.

USA forward Abby Wambach was named women’s world player of the year, the first American to win the award since Mia Hamm in 2002.

Del Bosque and Pia Sundhage collected the men’s and women’s coaching gongs for their work with Spain and USA respectively.

Real boss Jose Mourinho and Pep Guardiola, who left Barca in May to take a year’s sabbatical from the game, finished behind Del Bosque.

The Puskas Award for goal of the year went to Fenerbahce’s Slovakian striker Miroslav Stoch for his strike against Genclerbirligi in March.

Culled from BBC Sports.

What do you think about this story?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s