Rotimi Akinola

image
Orubebe has since apologised for his outburst

The chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Attahiru Jega has told the world why he was unperturbed by the shameful action of Godsday Orubebe who, earlier in the week, disrupted the announcement of election results.

Jega’s secret is not far fetched. He saw no reason in meeting an outrageously false allegation with anger.

“I maintained my calmness because I knew all the allegations were false,” the INEC chief told BBC Hausa service on Friday.

“There is nothing that frightens me or disturbs me because, of all our actions, we have explanations for them,” he said.

Orubebe, an agent of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), who candidate President Goodluck Jonathan lost out to Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has apologised for the outburst.

I don’t wanna go into the details of that sham. All that matters is that Jega handled it well and saved our democracy.

Many Nigerians, myself inclusive, are already tipping Jega for Man of the Year.

He has further boosted his chances of clinching that trophy after announcing he would not seek to stay in office beyond the expiration of his tenure in June.

“If I am requested to serve again, I will not do it, by God’s grace,” Jega said.

President-elect Buhari can raise the dead for all I care. Jega is Man of the Year. Period.

Jega, who is at the receiving end of global applause for the conduct of Nigeria’s 2015 presidential and federal parliamentary elections, said another person should be appointed to take up the job from June.

The card readers deployed for the polls were considered to have experience 99 per cent success.

“I am grateful to God. I was asked to come and contribute my own quota to the national development and I have done my bit to the best of my ability,” he said.

“Whatever assignment one will do for five years – just like this difficult one — to me if one is able to successfully accomplish the task, someone else should be given the opportunity. Because for me I am not interested and if I am requested to serve again, I will not do it, by God’s grace.”

Jega was appointed by President Goodluck Jonathan in 2010 to replace the then chief of Nigeria’s electoral management body, Maurice Iwu., whom many Nigerians do not consider a credible umpire.

Please drop your comments...Thanks

